

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL МЕЖПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 2895 (Available in English and French) IOC/VR/JB/TC 29 June 2022

To: IOC Member States (Official Coordinating Bodies for liaison with the IOC),

Permanent Delegates/Observer Missions to UNESCO, and National Commissions for UNESCO in IOC Member States

cc. : IOC Officers

Officers of Major IOC Subsidiary Bodies (Scientific, Technical and Regional), and IHO

Secretariat (SCUFN Secretary)

Subject: Appointment of new two IOC-affiliated members to the GEBCO

**Sub-Committee on Undersea Feature Names (SCUFN)** 

With this letter, I wish to inform you of my decision to appoint two new members to the Sub-Committee on Undersea Feature Names (SCUFN) of the Joint IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) pursuant to <a href="IOC Circular Letter 2883">IOC Circular Letter 2883</a> dated 24 April 2022 by which I informed Member States of the vacant seats on the SCUFN and subsequently called for nominations. As a result of this call, the Secretariat received 11 candidatures from 9 Member States to which I would like to express my gratitude.

Following a thorough review of the technical skills and experience in the field of ocean mapping of the candidates and with due consideration given to gender and geographic balance across the whole SCUFN memberships, the following experts have respectively been appointed for a five-year term from the following dates:

Ms Lorena da Fonseca Sampaio has an effective appointment at the date of this letter.

Current position: Advisor on Continental Shelf Survey Project,

Employer: Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation / Brazilian Navy

Country: Brazil

<u>Dr Hyun Suk Lee</u> will have an effective appointment after the next SCUFN meeting in

November 2022.

Current position: Visiting scientist: Geological Survey of Canada

Employer: Natural Resource Canada, Korea Institute of Geoscience and

Mineral Resources

Country: Republic of Korea

## Chairperson

Mr Ariel Hernan TROISI Technical Secretary Navy Hydrographic Service Av. Montes de Oca 2124 C1270ABV Buenos Aires ARGENTINA

## **Executive Secretary**

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

## Vice-Chairpersons

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE
Directrice de Recherche
Centre national de la recherche scientifique
(CNRS)
3 rue Michel Ange
75016 Paris
FRANCE

Dr Alexander FROLOV Assistant to the President National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" Academika Kurchatova pl., 1 123182 Moscow RUSSIAN FEDERATION Mr Frederico Antonio SARAIVA NOGUEIRA Navy Captain (Ret) Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barao de Jaceguai S/N 24048-900 Niterói BRAZIL

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO) Hyderabad 500090 Dr Karim HILMI
Head of Oceanography Department
Institut National de Recherche
Halieutique (INRH)
02, Boulevard Sidi Abderrahmane
Ain Diab
20180 Casablanca
MOROCCO

The new composition of the SCUFN is attached hereafter.

My appreciation goes to Ms Lorena de Fonseca Sampaio and Dr Hyun Suk Lee for their willingness to promote international cooperation in the field of ocean mapping in their personal capacities, their parent institutions and all nominating Member States.

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Vladimir Ryabinin Executive Secretary

Enclosure: Composition of the GEBCO Sub-Committee on Undersea Feature Names

## **Composition of GEBCO SCUFN Member (June 2022)**

1.	IHO Appointed Members:		Term Period
	Dr Yasuhiko OHARA (Vice-chair) Prof. Roberta IVALDI First Adm. Dr Najhan MD SAID Mr Trent PALMER Prof. Millard F. COFFIN Vacant: Call for nomination in pro	(Japan) (Italy) (Malaysia) (USA) (Australia) ogress	(2019–2023) (2021–2025) (2018–2022) <sup>1</sup> (2018–2022) <sup>1</sup> (2020–2024) (IHO CL 17/2022)
	. IOC Appointed Members:		
2.	IOC Appointed Members:		Term Period

<sup>1</sup> Additional five-year period planned and agreed.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Dr Han announced his intention to step down from his membership to SCUFN after the SCUFN 35.2 meeting scheduled in November 2022.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Dr Hyun Suk Lee is requested to attend as an observer at the SCUFN 35.2 meeting, and he will be duly approved as the SCUFN member at the end of the meeting.