PTWS Working Group (WG) 2 on Tsunami Detection, Warning and Dissemination

Task Team on Hunga-Tonga Hunga-Ha'apai (HTHH) Volcano Tsunami Hazard Response Terms of Reference

Background

During PTWS Post-Event Brief III - 15 Jan 2022 HTHH Eruption and Tsunami (10 February 2022), the ICG/PTWS established a small Task Team on Hunga-Tonga Hunga-Ha'apai (HTHH) Volcanic Tsunami Hazard Response to facilitate the implementation of the PTWS Interim Volcano Tsunami Alert Products and Procedures.

The WG 2 TT HTHH immediately commenced work immediately after Brief III, with the goal of delivering a final Implementation Plan in one (1) week. The PTWS Steering Committee would then convene within two (2) weeks after receiving the Plan to consider provisional approval. Upon provisional approval, the IOC will inform Member States by Circular Letter. Final approval is targeted for the ICG/PTWS-XXX (November 2022).

This Task Team will focus only on the HTHH Interim Products and Procedures. The PTWS WG2 is requested to continue working on atypical events in the context of the IOC TOWS-WG Task Team on Tsunami Watch Operations, and report on such at the ICG/PTWS-XXX.

Terms of Reference of the TT HTHH Volcano Tsunami Hazard Response are:

- 1. Review and finalise the draft PTWS Interim Procedures Implementation Plan (draft 10 February 2022, presented at the PTWS Post-Event Brief III 15 Jan 2022 HTHH Eruption and Tsunami).
 - Consider and advise on the format, content including forecasts, and dissemination of the interim products
 - Consider and advise on the reach (target regions) of the interim products
- 2. Review and provide feedback to the Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre (PTWC) during implementation and testing of the interim products
- 3. Review and provide feedback on the User's Guide for the interim products

Membership: Representatives of Member States of the ICG/PTWS representing at least one National Tsunami Warning Centre (NTWC) and National Disaster Management Office (NDMO), at least one Tsunami Service Provider (TSP), at least one Member State from the ICG/PTWS Pacific Island Countries and Territories (PICT) Working Group, ICG/PTWS Working Group 2 Chair, and ITIC; with Chair elected by the ICG.

Members:

Elected Chair: François Schindelé

NDMO: NZ (David Coetzee, Ashleigh Fromont)

TSP: PTWC (Charles McCreery), NWPTAC (Yuji Nishimae)

PICT: Tonga ('Ofa Fa'anunu)

NTWC: Chile (SHOA, Carlos Zuñiga), France (TNC, Francois Schindelé)

ITIC: Laura Kong WG2: Chair (Bill Fry)