

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL МЕЖПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 2832 (Revised) (Available in English only)

IOC/VR/JB/TC 5 March 2021

To: IOC Member States (Official Coordinating Bodies for liaison with the IOC),

Permanent Delegates/Observer Missions to UNESCO, and National Commissions for UNESCO of IOC Member States

cc. : IOC Officers

Officers of Major IOC Subsidiary Bodies (Scientific, Technical and Regional)

Subject: Nomination of IOC representatives to the GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) and information on new Chair and Vice-Chair of GGC

This letter informs you of my decision to appoint two new IOC members to the Joint IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee pursuant to <u>IOC Circular Letter 2820</u> dated 8 December 2020 on the same subject. As a result of this call, the Secretariat received 15 candidatures from 10 Member States to which I would like to express my gratitude.

Following a thorough review of the candidates' technical skills and experience in the field of ocean mapping and with due consideration of gender and geographic balance across the whole GGC membership, the following experts were appointed for a five-year term as from 21 January 2021:

Ms Kim Picard, AusSeabed Program Director, Geoscience Australia (GA), National Earth and Marine Observation Group, Australia

Mr Prashant Kumar Srivastava, Cdr., Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES), India

I thank the experts for their willingness to promote international cooperation in the field of ocean mapping in their personal capacity. I thank as well as their parent institutions and the nominating Member States.

At its 37th meeting on 18–20 January 2021, the GEBCO GGC elected a new chair and vice chair, respectively, Mr Evert Flier, Norwegian Mapping Authority, and Ms Marzia Rovere, National Research Council, Italy. I congratulate them on their successful election and express sincere gratitude of the IOC to Rear Admiral Shin Tani (outgoing chair) for his longstanding devoted

Chairperson

Mr Ariel Hernan TROISI Technical Secretary Navy Hydrographic Service Av. Montes de Oca 2124 C1270ABV Buenos Aires ARGENTINA

Executive Secretary

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

Vice-Chairpersons

Ms Monika BREUCH-MORITZ c/o Secretariat of German IOC Section Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency Bernhard-Nocht-Str. 78 20359 Hamburg GERMANY

Dr Alexander FROLOV Assistant to the President National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" Academika Kurchatova pl., 1 123182 Moscow RUSSIAN FEDERATION Mr Frederico Antonio SARAIVA NOGUEIRA Navy Captain (Ret) Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barao de Jaceguai S/N 24048-900 Niterói BRAZIL

Dr Satheesh Chandra SHENOI Former Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragati Nagar, Nizampet P.O. 500090 Hyderabad INDIA Dr Karim HILMI
Head of Oceanography Department
Institut National de Recherche
Halieutique (INRH)
02, Boulevard Sidi Abderrahmane
Ain Diab
20180 Casablanca
MOROCCO

contribution to GEBCO and his seminal role in promoting collaboration across the hydrographic and oceanographic communities.

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Vladimir Ryabinin Executive Secretary

Enclosure: Composition of the Joint IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) as from 21 January 2021

COMPOSITION OF THE JOINT IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC)

1.	IHO Appointed Members:		Term Period
	Vice Adm. (ret) Shin Tani Mr David Millar Mr Evert Flier (Chair) Cpt. Rodrigo de Souza Obino Mr Samuel Harper	(Japan) (USA) (Norway) (Brazil) (UK)	(2018-2023) * (2018-2023) (2019-2024) (2019-2024) (2020-2025)
2.	IOC Appointed Members:		Term Period
	Dr Martin Jakobsson Lt. Dr Karolina Zwolak Dr Marzia Rovere (Vice-chair) Dr Kim Picard Cdr. Prashant Kumar Srivastava	(Sweden) (Poland) (Italy) (Australia) (India)	(2018-2023) * (2018-2023) (2019-2024) (2021-2026) (2021-2026)
3.	Ex-officio Members:		
	Dr Vicki Ferrini Mr Thierry Schmitt Mr Hyun-Chul Han Dr Hyo Hyun Sung Ms Jennifer Jencks	(USA) (France) (Republic of Korea) (Republic of Korea) (USA)	(Chair of SCRUM) (Chair of TSCOM) (Chair of SCUFN) (Chair of SCOPE) (Director of IHO-DCDB)
4.	Secretary:		Term Period
	Mr David Wyatt	(IHO)	(2021-2025)

Notes:

^{*} Members serving a second 5-year term